Pulled Pork leftovers? Yaka Mein

Here is an extra recipe to the Wednesday Big Easy Recipe of the week, a lagniappe… Yaka Mein!

I know I’ve posted about this a few times but I love making this after making Pulled Pork.  It’s just my wife and I eating the Pulled Pork sandwiches so I have quite a bit leftover and I make the extra just for this reason.

You can make it many different ways with what you have on hand, but this is pretty much the traditional way.  You could use Angel Hair Pasta or and another type of noodle.  Use Pulled Chicken if that’s what you made.  Use whatever but this is a great way to not let food go to waste.  If you’ve never tried this, you might be surprised.  Let me know if you do!

YAKA MEIN

Ingredients:

  • leftover pulled pork
  • spaghetti noodles
  • beef stock
  • hard-boiled egg cut in half
  • parsley or green onions
  • soy sauce, ketchup, tabasco sauce

Hard boil the eggs.  Boil the noodles.  Bring the stock to a boil.  Reheat the pulled pork.

In a bowl, place the noodles.  Add the pulled pork.  Pour the stock over.  Place the half egg on top.  Garnish with the parsley or green onion.  Add the amount of soy sauce, tabasco and ketchup you want.  Enjoy!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment